MamaSylvia's Reviews


Welcome, site visitor!

If you're looking for something to read that will suit your taste, it helps to know what a reviewer looks for when deciding whether your taste is similar. I look for an involving story, likeable characters who feel real, and no "deus ex machina" endings or "with this clue that I'm not going to share with the reader, the hero knew whodunit" - I've been known to throw a book across the room when I run into those. I prefer a cheery feel but a few dark/gloomy series are also on my favorites list, such as Ian Rutledge. If a story doesn't start fairly quickly, or if it doesn't hold my interest, I give up on the book. Each review starts with a brief plot description, ideally without spoilers. The second paragraph is what the reviewer thought of the book and why. 1 star is awful, 5 stars is great, NR means I didn't finish it or rate it, usually because I discovered it was a genre I don't like. Hope you enjoy!

Quick jump: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All
Search for a specific...
Title: Author: Series:
Only show reviews written after: and before:
Change Sort Order...
Currently sorting on: Most Recently Added
No previous page
Show Reviews Per Page
 
Author: Azzaro, Aubrey
Title: Essential Oils: Unleash the Power of Essential Oil
Genre: Health
Rating: 1
Full title: Essential Oils: Unleash the Power of Essential Oils for Weight Loss, Aromatherapy, Beauty, and Stress Relief (Essential Oils and Aromatherapy - Healing Recipes, Beginners, Aromatics)

Supposedly, a beginners' guide to essential oils.

Excruciatingly unusable collection of unsupported (and sometimes absurd) factoids. Is "impactful" even a word? "The essential oils used in aromatherapy can boost your powerful sense of smell." Every biology text I've ever seen discusses how limited humans' sense of smell is, and none of the other sites/books I've checked out claim aromatherapy can improve it. "Incidences of psychiatric problems such as depression, anxiety and stress are elevated if you choose to lead a life without fragrance." Really? Source of your data, please. Also, how would it be possible? Restaurants smell like restaurants, stores often have testers of scents available, and never mind what my kid's room smells like. Odors surround us and are one of the ways we gather information about the world. "The fine hairs that line your nose are termed as cilia." People that don't understand biology should not presume to teach it. Cilia are MICROSCOPIC protrusions found on most cells in the human body. Nose hair, as far as I can tell, is simply called nose hair and has no special role in scent detection. "You can make your own infused oils in a crock pot (sic) at an extremely low heat setting." I've been using crockpots for 40 years and have never seen one with an "extremely low" setting, just High, Low, and Keep Warm (sometimes). "... two ounces of your chosen carrier oil placed in a crock pot." Two ounces is about a quarter-cup, which wouldn't even cover the bottom of either of my crockpots, leaving the sides (where the heat is generally applied in a crockpot) with nothing to pass the heat to. Sounds like a recipe for cracked crockpot liner to me. That Azzaro included a chart of essential oils by classification (location 173) that was even formatted to be readable on my Kindle Keyboard did not make up for the awful rest of the book; in fact, given the large number of fact errors, I can't even consider the chart believable. The title was WAY too long, practically long enough to be a separate book by itself.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 01/25/2015


 
Author: Lyda, Lisa
Title: Essential Oils: A Guide to Improving Your Mental W
Genre: Health
Rating: 1
Full title: Essential Oils: A Guide to Improving Your Mental Well-Being with Essential Oils (Essential Oils for Beginners)

Difficult-to-read collection of unsupported pronouncements.

I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. It's quite possible English is not the author's first language, but in any case, it badly needed proofreading just to convert the gibberish into intelligible sentences. "Essential oils prevents the body against microorganisms that causes diseases since many of them have CNS stimulants and sedatives in the human body. They react with several receptor sites and enzymes to thus providing the potential of therapeutic activities." Huh? "If a patient is under medication is advised to consult their doctor first before stop using medicine and replacing them with the oils." Her facts, such as her description of the different processes that produce essential oils, seem accurate when I was able to decipher them, with a few glaring exceptions such as "This method of using essential oils to help with depression is commonly referred to as Aromatherapy." Aromatherapy is not limited to treating depression! In any case, I tired of trying to make sense of gibberish quickly and moved on to the next book, hoping for better writing as well as helpful facts. The title is too long as well.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/20/2014


 
Author: Benn, James R
Title: Evil For EvilBilly Boyle # 4
Genre: Historical Mystery
Rating: 4
Sent to 1943 British Ireland to investigate the theft of 50 Browning Automatic Rifles from a U.S. base, Billy has to wade through centuries of religious fighting and complicated relationships between MI-5 and the local police.

I've started every book in this series wondering why I'm reading it, and every one has sucked me into caring about the people and wanting to unravel the complicated but logical plots. This is a combination police procedural and war story, two genres I generally skip. Billy is not just a reluctant hero, he actively avoids heroism. But the acid test of a book for me is whether I can't wait to find out what is going to happen next, and this book passes with flying colors. The ending was not happy but it was believable, and Benn plays fair with the reader. The title subtly revealed the book's theme.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/16/2014


 
Author: Bujold, Lois McMaster
Title: Ethan of AthosVorkosigan # 1
Genre: Speculative Fiction
Rating: NR
(in omnibus Miles, Mystery and Mayhem)

Ethan is torn away from his happy life running a reproductive center on an all-male planet and sent to buy replacement cultures to grow more fetuses. Even though that will expose him to <shudder> WOMEN. But on Kline Station he is caught in a spy crossfire and rescued by a female mercenary.

Just another spies-in-space-after-the-same McGuffin story. I quit about a quarter of the way through.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/15/2014


 
Author: Marsh, Ngaio
Title: Enter a MurdererInspector Alleyn # 2
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 4
Alleyn is watching a play from the audience when a staged killing turns real and he must wade through theatrical shenanigans to identify a killer.

Solid mystery, although the fawning over Alleyn was unnecessary and a little distracting. The characters were well-drawn and the solution was satisfactory. The title was perfect. I bought the complete set of Ngaio Marsh's Alleyn stories for Kindle, and although it must have been OCR'd, someone did a good job proofreading and formatting for Kindle.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/14/2014


 
Author: Reed, Mary & Mayer, Eric
Title: Eight For EternityJohn the Eunuch # 8
Genre: Historical Mystery
Rating: 3
Justinian orders John to find the killer of two rival faction members he had intended to pardon, while riots threaten Justinian's rule and the lives of his courtiers.

Convoluted plot as usual, but for a change I never really figured out what was going on. Lovely backstory on the emperor's cousins, though. Surprisingly for a Poisoned Press effort, there were some incorrectly-used words: "wreck havoc" instead of the correct "wreak havoc," "servant's" as a plural noun instead of "servants" (same thing happened later with "excubitor's" instead of "excubitors). The title was somewhat relevant if you didn't mind straining. Kindle formatting was fine.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/12/2014


 
Author: Alcott, Louisa May
Title: Eight CousinsEight Cousins # 1
Genre: Historical Fiction
Rating: 4
Recently orphaned Rose has to adjust to new guardian-uncle as well as seven boy cousins.

eBook downloaded free from www.Gutenberg.org Like most of Alcott's best work, the children are too nice to be realistic, but their little trials and travails make enjoyable light reading. Extremely sloppy proofreading distracted me from the story, which is all too common in Gutenberg efforts.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/11/2014


 
Author: Clemens, Samuel Langhorne as Twain, Mark
Title: Editorial Wild Oats
Genre: Essays
Rating: 4
Collection of a few of Twain's short essays involving editorial work.

eBook downloaded from www.Gutenberg.org Cute and amusing if brief.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/10/2014


 
Author: Smedley, Fred
Title: Eggs - How To Cook Eggs
Genre: Cookbook
Rating: 3
I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. Super-basic instruction in the various ways to cook eggs. Very short ebook; only 202 locations including the introduction and ending statement.

Although I'm a good cook, I was pleased to see a cookbook aimed at the inexperienced cook, and eggs are wonderfully flexible. If you can nuke a couple pieces of bacon, stick bread into your electric toaster, and fry or scramble a couple of eggs, you won't starve and you can even feed unexpected company. But these, sadly, aren't quite basic enough. Smedley starts with soft-boiled eggs and is quite explicit as to how long the eggs should cook or stand, but he seems to have gotten tired when he got to hard-boiled aggs as he starts giving ranges and adding "The exact time will depend on how hard-boiled you prefer your eggs to be." Well, duh, but how is the novice cook to know where in that range his preferred hardness will fall? Smedley's instructions for frying eggs start: "I use butter but you can of course use oil or margarine or whatever you prefer." Experienced cooks realize he is talking about some kind of shortening to keep the egg from sticking to the pan, but the inexperienced cook may decide "I like Worcestershire sauce or hot sauce on my eggs, so I'll use that." The results would not be good. Then Smedley instructs: "Crack an egg onto a plate ensuring that the yolk does not break." How? Even experienced cooks have trouble with this, and Smedley gives the novice no help. He also ignores flipping the egg (does he think sunny side up is the only method people like?) or just what "spooning" butter over the egg is. The same shortcomings appear for poaching eggs (no cooking times or ways to tell when the egg is done). For omelettes, he assumes the cooked omelette will slide effortlessly out of the pan; for scrambled eggs, he talks about how "creamy" you want the final product - maybe that is a British term but in the U.S. I've never heard it applied to eggs and don't know what he means. I tried his instructions to push the outside towards the center and it would have resulted in unevenly-cooked eggs, not a uniform scramble, if I hadn't watched and flipped uncooked bits. As is, it's probably a good book for the marginally-experienced cook, but not the raw novice. A few hours' work adding the information that a total newbie would need could make this a wonderful first-apartment or off-to-college gift.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 04/25/2012


 
Author: Thomason, Sue
Title: Eat Less Without Trying To Eat Less
Genre: Diet & Exercise
Rating: 1
I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway.

I'm always skeptical of claims like this, but I am so morbidly obese that I'm facing a second surgery to try to lose weight, so I will try just about anything.

The author claims that if we stop dieting, we would wind up at our body's "natural shape" except that we'll either get "pulled" into trying one more diet, or binge and scare ourselves into trying another diet, or "experience a short 'honeymoon period' of normal eating and exhilaration followed by excitement about the weight you're losing which drives you back to counting up and measuring what you're allowed to eat (back to dieting)."

The foreward immediately aggravated me by telling me what I was going to feel. Lady, you don't know me, or you'd know how your patronizing attitude was making me feel pissed. The rest of the forward was unsupported claims intertwined with gibberish. The one clearly true statement is "I'm not a doctor or a psychologist and I don't have any medical qualifications." Of course, that doesn't keep her from claiming to be a weight loss expert anyway, as she attempts to brainwash the reader about the "evil diet industry" that has been keeping us from losing weight all these years. Her three options (previous paragraph) were so absurd that she lost me 11% into the book. I went YEARS without dieting, which would make my "natural shape" double what would be a good weight for me if her "plan" was correct. Just another ripoff of those of us who desperately want to lose weight. There is no active table of contents, but spelling/grammar/formatting are okay.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/22/2012


 
Author: McElhaney, Scott
Title: Elusive December
Genre: Christian fantasy
Rating: 4
A writer who has lost his faith finds himself stuck in a diner at Christmastime, with characters from his most famous book.

Charming short story with vivid characters and believable problems.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/11/2011


 
Author: Webb, Peggy
Title: Elvis and The Dearly DepartedSouthern Cousins # 1
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: 2
Callie and her cousin Lovie head for Vegas to search for a missing corpse.

Everything I dislike about Southern parodies rolled into one book. Callie is a wuss who is divorcing her husband but can't resist a roll in the hay with him, Lovie is a slut, mysterious Jack is rich and gorgeous, Callie's mother is a gambling moocher, and the dog (who alternates narration with Callie) really thinks he's the late Elvis Presley. It's not badly written, but with such awful characters, who cares? I couldn't even get a quarter of the way through before throwing it across the room.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/05/2011


 
Author: Lackey, Mercedes
Title: Exile's ValorHeralds of Valdemar # 6
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4
Selenay is badgered by her Council to marry while she continues to mourn her father. Alberich gets some help with his intelligence forays. Selenay falls for a Rethwellan prince with an ulterior motive.

The wandering plot and leisurely pace would leave the reader with an unfocused feeling if Lackey wasn't such a good storyteller, especially since the reader of other Valdemar books knows where the plot is going. It fills in the hole left by the mention of Selenay's disastrous marriage in Arrows of the Queen, but Lackey is able to make it a moderately interesting tale.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/26/2011


 
Author: Lackey, Mercedes
Title: Exile's HonorHeralds of Valdemar # 5
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 4
Karsite army captain Alberich is a brilliant warrior, but the corrupt priesthood recognizes his flashes of Foresight and condemns him to be burned as a witch. After Companion Kantor saves him from the flames, he reluctantly agrees to try a Herald's life, and is won over by their desperate need for a competent Weaponsmaster. Then, the Tedrel Wars bring him to the forefront of the plans to keep King Sendar and Princess Selenay alive.

Engaging if predictable "biography" of Alberich, with intriguing glimpses of characters like Selenay and Jadus in their youth. The main weakness is the extensive time spent inside Alberich's head. Lackey is a superb storyteller but spends way too much wordage on Alberich's internal ramblings to remain interesting. Slow read, even for a book of over 400 pages. The title is very appropriate and the cover art of Alberich was good, the wild-eyed Companion less so. Valdemar fans will tolerate the strained sections but don't start anyone on this book, start with Arrows of the Queen instead.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/23/2011


 
Author: Sirois, George H.
Title: Excelsior
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 2
A young misfit finds his niche drawing an online comic about a group of captive humans fighting to reclaim their planet from scaly aliens. But it turns out his imaginary story is real, and a mysterious woman drafts him to find a jewel of power before an excavated alien can regenerate and take over the sword Excelsior.

Standard fantasy quest tale with nothing that caught my interest - I quit a quarter of the way through.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/19/2011


 
Author: Bowen, Rhys
Title: Evans to BetsyConstable Evan Evans # 6
Genre: Historical Mystery - England
Rating: 4
Flattered by a visiting American's conviction that she has psychic powers, Betsy takes a job at a spiritualist retreat shortly before the director is found dead. Evan is torn between concern for her safety, worry over Bronwen's mysterious illness, and helping Watkins and Glynis investigate the disappearance of an American student.

Nicely convoluted plot, although the murderer turned out to be one of the two people on my short list. I'm not sure why I like Betsy - she is so desperate for attention - but I do. The side plot of Bronwen's illness didn't contribute anything, however.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/18/2011


 
Author: Schneider, Maria E.
Title: Executive LunchSedona O'Hala # 1
Genre: Fiction
Rating: 2
Sedona is content as a computer technician, but after she routs three thugs threatening a co-worker, she is drafted into a scheme to penetrate an embezzling setup.

Well-enough written, but it never caught my attention. None of the characters felt either real or likable. I got a quarter of the way through and then gave up.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/17/2011


 
Author: Robinson, Lynda S.
Title: Eater of SoulsLord Meren # 4
Genre: Historical Mystery - Egypt
Rating: 3
Meren is ordered to make friends with a pretentious nobleman while he pursues the poisoners of Queen Nefertiti and tries to stay alive. Meanwhile, a bloody killer terrifies Memphis, and it may be a god of the dead come to the living.

There was always a strong element of political thriller in this series, but with this book it toppled over the line. Although there is a lot to like, especially Robinson's handling of the interactions between Meren and Pharaoh Tutankhamen, I just don't like it when the politics overshadow the storyline, and the pursuit of Nefertiti's killers has acquired the stature of the One Ring. I read the first half and then skipped to the end.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/15/2011


 
Author: Blackstock, Terri
Title: Emerald Windows
Genre: Fiction
Rating: NR
After running away from her hometown to escape a vicious scandal, a young artist returns for a life-changing commission, only to find that she'll be working with her alleged lover and that her younger sister is bitter from growing up in the shadow of the scandal.

I couldn't get into this book, not because of the writing quality, but because there was just too much pain. I quit pretty quickly.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/15/2011


 
Author: Greenwood, Kerry
Title: Earthly DelightsCorinna Chapman # 1
Genre: Fiction
Rating: 1
Corinna is a fat woman running a Melbourne bakery and living in an Italian-style building.

Shouldn't there be more to a story? I think so, but Greenwood makes the all-too-common mistake of devoting the first book in a series to providing far too much information about characters the reader has no reason to care about (yet). I waded through the first couple of chapters, skipped ahead and she was STILL introducing people, and quit.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/14/2011


 
Author: Beacham, T.C.
Title: Escaping Celia
Genre: Fiction
Rating: 1
Carly is ecstatically looking forward to a month alone at the beach while her husband and kids travel out west. But she can't say "no" when her mother wants to come along, and her mother invites her sister, and the sister brings her adult daughter Celia, and adult daughter brings home a would-be bike thief Maddie.

Talk about a wuss. Carly can't stand up to anyone, letting her overbearing relatives ruin her time alone rather than speaking up "inappropriately." I couldn't even get a quarter of the way through before quitting in disgust.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/09/2011


 
Author: Bowen, Rhys
Title: Evan Can WaitConstable Evan Evans # 5
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 4
Evan is assigned to provide security for a film crew set to record the raising of a German bomber from a Welsh lake. Keeping out star-struck Betsy is hard enough, but Evan is shattered when his girlfriend Bronwen turns out to be the ex-wife of one of the filmmakers. The final straw comes when Bronwen begs Evan to prove her ex did not kill the obnoxious producer.

The wonderful Welsh humor of the early books seems to have permanently disappeared, leaving a perfectly competent combination of cozy and police procedural. But I miss the humor. Evan is not perfect; he is jealous of Bronwen and discouraged at not winning a promotion to detective. But he's not so flawed that it is painful to watch him. Bowen used a new technique in the book, alternating the usual third-person storyline with a first-person narration, gradually revealing information from a different angle. I don't particularly like mixed-viewpoint stories, but I have to admit this was effective and it provided ample red herrings as well as relevant information, and I was totally wrong about the killer.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/02/2011


 
Author: Austen, Jane
Title: Emma
Genre: Fiction
Rating: 5
eBook downloaded from www.Gutenberg.org

Rich and lovely, Emma Woodhouse is so happy taking the credit for the marriage of her governess/companion that she decides to find a wife for the local vicar. She befriends an illegitimate girl boarding at a local school and is sure Harriet will be the perfect wife for Mr. Elton, who is interested in Emma herself and soothes his rejection at Emma's hands with quick marriage to a merchant's daughter with a large dowry. The new bride is an overfamiliar social climber but Emma is more worried about Mr. Knightly's apparent interest in poor-but-beautiful Jane Fairfax, fearing a marriage that would keep her nephew from inheriting Donwell Abbey.

No one matches Austen at drawing characters who feel real, and Emma is one of the most likable of the lot. Her mistakes are honest and her goodheartedness compels her to acknowledge and rectify them as best she can. The only flaw I found (other than the extended descriptive passages which were de rigeur at the time) was the extended denoument, encompassing everyone's reaction to the engagements but not really producing a storyline.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 11/10/2010


 
Author: Bowen, Rhys
Title: Evan and ElleConstable Evan Evans # 4
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 5
Someone is trying to drive the "foreigners" out of Wales, including an English couple whose Llanfair weekend retreat was torched and a lovely Frenchwoman whose new restaurant is threatened. Yvette joins the throng of women interested in Evan shortly before suffering a devastating loss herself, as Evan tries to help CID identify a mysterious corpse.

Enjoyable, fast read, even if Evan and the police seem to take a long time to pick up on what was obvious to the reader and there was a bit too much coincidence. And the title was exceedingly clever and appropriate - "Elle" is French for "she."
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/20/2010


 
Author: Bowen, Rhys
Title: Evanly ChoirsConstable Evan Evans # 3
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 4
A famous opera singer returns to Llanfair on vacation and volunteers to join the local choir at an eisteddfed, but after rearranging the planned music to suit his talents, he is found murdered the evening before the performance. Of course, it is lowly constable Evans who finds the critical information to solve the murder.

Fast, enjoyable read, but while the way the murderer deceived the public was pretty obvious, I'm not sure the reader was given all the information needed to figure out whodunit. There was one piece of data in particular that was glaringly missing to disprove an alibi. However, overall, this series has been so enjoyable that I haven't even made my usual gripe about taking so long to get to the murders, which typically don't occur until near the halfway point of each book.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/13/2010


 
Author: Bowen, Rhys
Title: Evan Help UsConstable Evan Evans # 2
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 5
Llanfair acquires two new residents, a single mother from London and the long-gone tycoon son of a local farmer, just before a well-liked visitor is found dead. Evan rightly suspects the man was murdered and he and D.S. Watkins pursue the killer even to London.

Another light, fast-paced, thoroughly enjoyable entry in this series. The annoying characters, such as the women pursuing Evan, are at least tolerable, and the story moves along too quickly to bore even me. The title wasn't as perfectly appropriate as the previous book, Evans Above, but wasn't so irrelevant as to bother me.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/09/2010


 
Author: Bradley, Marion Zimmer
Title: Exile’s SongDarkover: Terran era
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 2
Margaret Alton, now grown up and an academic musicologist, returns to Darkover to record native ballads and finds herself in the middle of Domain politics as well as threshold sickness.

There were two major problems with this book. First, Lew loved Marjorie and it is simply not believable that he would have rejected little Marja so completely. Second, Bradley has done this plot so many times: someone comes to Darkover, finds her laran awakened, nearly dies from threshold sickness, yada yada yada. Yes, Margaret is a native Darkovan but that doesn't alter the story that much. I got halfway through and then skipped to the confused end, which didn't resolve anything even when I backed up and read the last 6 chapters! I can't even think of any group who would enjoy this book. There is too much backstory that is integral to following the plot to recommend it to Darkover newbies, and those who had read the previous books are likely to find this repetition just as tedious as I did. OTOH, the cover art accurately represented Margaret, and the title was extremely appropriate!
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/09/2010


 
Author: Jennings, Maureen
Title: Except the DyingDetective Murdoch # 1
Genre: Historical Mystery Police Proc
Rating: NR
When a young woman is found frozen to death, Acting Detective Murdoch investigates while his supervisor tries to keep him from offending the wealthy family who employed the victim.

Okay police procedural, but I'm not generally a fan of police procedurals and there was nothing special about this one to pique my interest, although the author did a great job with the setting and people of 1890's Toronto.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/08/2010


 
Author: Burchett, Jan and Vogler, Sara
Title: ExileLady Grace # 5
Genre: Historical Mystery
Rating: 5
A beautiful and exotic Eastern princess arrives at Elizabeth's court, the sole member of her family to escape a palace revolution. But when her priceless ruby is stolen and found in Ellie's laundry basket, Grace must find the real thief before Ellie suffers the traditional punishment for a thief: loss of a hand.

Finally, cover art that has something to do with the story! Not perfect - Grace is in Jane Austen-era clothing rather than Elizabethan - but at least it's not 1950's garb! And Banoo Yasmine is suitably exotic and wearing the famous ruby, although not dressed in the outfit described in the book. The story itself moved right along with a straightforward plot and likable characters. I continue to enjoy this series.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/06/2010


 
Author: Bowen, Rhys
Title: Evans AboveConstable Evan Evans # 1
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 5
P.C. Evan Evans suspects that the deaths of two mountain climbers are murder, and related to the same event. But he must evade two persistent female admirers if he hopes to track down the killer.

Super fast read and quite enjoyable, with a feeling similar to the early Hamish Macbeth tales. The killer was pretty obvious, which sometimes happens when the author is scrupulous about giving the reader the information to figure it out, but there were lots of red herrings to distract poor Evan as well as a ripping good story. And a book title that is both clever and relates to the plot.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/05/2010


 
Author: Hellmann, Libby Fischer
Title: Easy InnocenceGeorgia Davis # 1
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 02/01/2010


 
Author: Bannister, Jo
Title: Echoes of liesBrodie Farrell # 1
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 08/30/2009


 
Author: Rogak, Lisa
Title: Everything One-Pot Cookbook
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 08/25/2009


 
Author: Novik, Naomi
Title: Empire of ivoryTemeraire # 4
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 08/23/2009


 
Author: Lofts, Norah
Title: Eleanor the queen
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 11/29/2008


 
Author: Lofts, Norah
Title: Emma Hamilton
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 11/26/2008


 
Author: Weisberger, Lauren
Title: Everyone Worth Knowing
Genre: Chick Lit
Rating: 1
reviewed by: Sylvia on 11/22/2008


 
Author: Binchy, Maeve
Title: Evening class
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/02/2008


 
Author: Bujold, Lois McMaster
Title: Ethan of Athos
Genre: Fantasy
Rating: 1
reviewed by: Sylvia on 08/24/2008


 
Author: Kingsbury, Karen
Title: Even NowEven Now #1
Genre: Christian romance
Rating: 2
Skip the first half of this book. Besides being unbearably slow-moving, it could be a textbook example of how NOT to write: telling the reader how the character feels or thinks rather than showing, long involved flashbacks, and whole plot lines depending on implausible coincidences. If you open the book about halfway through, you'll still have plenty of tearjerker time but the slow-moving plot is a little more interesting and the flashbacks are over. I hate to knock Christian fiction but this would just have been better as a short story or novella.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/11/2008


No previous page