MamaSylvia's Reviews


Welcome, site visitor!

If you're looking for something to read that will suit your taste, it helps to know what a reviewer looks for when deciding whether your taste is similar. I look for an involving story, likeable characters who feel real, and no "deus ex machina" endings or "with this clue that I'm not going to share with the reader, the hero knew whodunit" - I've been known to throw a book across the room when I run into those. I prefer a cheery feel but a few dark/gloomy series are also on my favorites list, such as Ian Rutledge. If a story doesn't start fairly quickly, or if it doesn't hold my interest, I give up on the book. Each review starts with a brief plot description, ideally without spoilers. The second paragraph is what the reviewer thought of the book and why. 1 star is awful, 5 stars is great, NR means I didn't finish it or rate it, usually because I discovered it was a genre I don't like. Hope you enjoy!

Quick jump: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All
Search for a specific...
Title: Author: Series:
Only show reviews written after: and before:
Change Sort Order...
Currently sorting on: Most Recently Added
No previous page
Show Reviews Per Page
 
Author: Gier, Scott
Title: Genellan - PlanetfallGenellan # 1
Genre: Science Fiction
Rating: NR
After a surprise attack, the surviving crew of a space navy corvette must land on a nearby planet that they discover is already occupied by nonhumans.

Just never caught my interest.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 02/02/2015


 
Author: Lakin, Rita
Title: Getting Old Is the Best RevengeGladdy Gold # 2
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: 4
Gladdy's investigation of what she suspects is a pattern of murders is interrupted by a bingo cruise and Jack's frustration at her lack of commitment.

Not completely realistic - even a good nurse wouldn't be able to inject a large amount of air into a conscious patient before the patient could resist - but a fun read nonetheless, although the "girls" can be too irritating sometimes. The Gladdy-resisting-Jack subplot doesn't add anything positive to the story. The title is completely irrelevant.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 11/01/2014


 
Author: Christie, Judy
Title: Goodness Gracious GreenGreen # 2
Genre: Christian fiction
Rating: 3
A suspicious fire at the newspaper right after Lois refused to sell the paper back to the original owners is only the first drop in a rain of terror culminating in a lawsuit.

I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. There is a school of thought in writing that the author should pile disaster on disaster onto the main character, and the first part of the book follows that rule. Since I don't like that kind of story, I almost quit. But finally Christie went back to the small-town-events formula that I liked much better. The various resolutions were acceptable with the exception of a totally holey finale. Spelling, grammar, and Kindle formatting were fine. The title was strained.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/21/2014


 
Author: Thomas, Marlo
Title: Growing Up Laughing
Genre: Memoir
Rating: 3
Thomas relates stories of her childhood and young adulthood as the daughter of comedy legend Danny Thomas, alternating with mini-interviews with famous comics.

This book suffers badly from its mixed purpose. Either Thomas' own memories or her take on the elements of comedy could become a worthwhile book, but trying to kill two birds with one stone - er, book - just detracts from either goal. Many of her "interviews" didn't interest me because I don't consider the subjects funny, such as Chris Rock. I did enjoy her growing-up stories and I did finish the book. But I can't say it was worth buying. Spelling, grammar, and Kindle formatting were fine. The title was appropriate.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 05/06/2014


 
Author: Fowler, Earlene
Title: Goose in the PondBenni Harper # 4
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: 4
Bennie finds a library storyteller dead in a park, and Gabe hunts for her killer as Bennie tries to keep a storytelling festival from imploding while staying out of Gabe's investigation.

Solid mystery with a creative resolution. I'm not convinced the reader was given the information to figure out whodunnit, but it kept me reading. Fowler really had to strain for an appropriate title in this one.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 05/02/2014


 
Author: Christie, Judy
Title: Gone to GreenGreen # 1
Genre: Christian fiction
Rating: 4
City editor Lois Barker follows the dream of a deceased friend to run a small-town newspaper in Louisiana and finds surprising trials and blessings.

I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. Like the Mitford series, I can't really say why I kept reading. The plot was utterly predictable, the characters stock Southern fodder. But Christie made me care about them and want to find out what would happen next. Spelling, grammar, and Kindle formatting were fine. The title was appropriate.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 05/01/2014


 
Author: Austin, Lynn
Title: Gods and KingsChronicles of the Kings # 1
Genre: Historical Fiction
Rating: 3
aka The Lord Is My Strength

Young Prince Hezekiah narrowly avoids being sacrificed to a pagan idol, then loses everyone he cares about. As a young man, he suddenly finds himself ruling a bankrupt nation of slaves.

I'm not generally a fan of fictionalized Biblical stories, but Hezekiah has always been one of my favorite characters. And as a story, it was okay even though quite sad. But Austin makes too many unjustified assumptions for my comfort, much less believability. If the book had any copyediting, it was sloppy: Ara-means, day-today, Godwho armsme, feeling shopeless, breaks in the middle of paragraphs. "... news of the latest attempt to breech the gates ..." Why would city gates need pants? There is even one section where the words are all jumbled up, making no sense at all.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 04/29/2014


 
Author: Benefiel, Stacey Wallace
Title: GlimpseZellie Wells # 1
Genre: YA fiction
Rating: NR
Zellie is a typical highschooler with parent conflicts and a giant crush on a cute boy at church. But sometimes she can see the future.

Just another teenager-with-magic-powers story. I found this particularly offensive because the girl is a pastor's daughter but took the Lord's name in vain just as frequently and easily as her worldly friends.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 04/22/2014


 
Author: Allen, Anne R.
Title: Ghost Writers In the SkyCamilla Randall # 2
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: NR
in omnibus The Camilla Randall Mysteries

Camilla's plan to escape the lies of her publicity-hungry ex backfire when a long-lost friend is arrested for murder.

Just never got into it. Camilla is a whiny formerly-rich-girl and Allen never made me care what was going to happen to her.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 04/12/2014


 
Author: Elliott, Anna
Title: Georgiana Darcy's DiaryPemberley Diaries # 1
Genre: P&P sequel
Rating: 4
Georgiana of "Pride and Prejudice" narrates the continued stories of the P&P characters.

I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway, with great trepidation because I liked P&P and nearly all the wannabe sequelizers offer stories that are inaccurate to the period or boring or both. This book was a pleasant surprise. Elliott had the sense to realize that she would be unable to reproduce Austen's style, so she switched to a diary format that suits her story quite well. She doesn't have her characters doing clearly unbelievable actions, or at least no more than Austen did herself. (I never found it believable that Lydia would elope with Wickham - she was thoughtless and flighty, not stupid.) Elliott offers a pleasant light romance, with Elizabeth and Darcy happily married and Georgiana trying to find her own happiness. It could have used editing - the descriptions of the characters added nothing to the plot, although "Georgiana's" drawings were cute - but Elliott turns some lovely phrases, such as when Anne de Bourgh "drooped upstairs to bed." She leaves one loose end, but I'll forgive her that since the rest of the book was quite enjoyable. Spelling, grammar, and Kindle formatting were mostly fine, unusual in a self-pub. The title was appropriate if uninspired.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 04/09/2014


 
Author: Colette, Sidonie Gabrielle
Title: Gigi
Genre: Historical Fiction
Rating: 2
Teenage Gilberte comes from a line of courtesans. She lives with her neglectful actress mother and retired but not wealthy grandmama, while her well-off Aunt Alicia teaches her the social skills to be a popular mistress. Rich Gaston enjoys the peace of their little home. When Gaston is forced to realize little Gigi has grown up, he decides he will become her protector - but Gigi doesn't want to live that kind of life.

I enjoyed the movie so much that I was curious about the book it was based on. I was surprised at how short it is, not even long enough to be called a novella. And the adapters certainly took a lot of liberties, but (for a change) the movie actually explained more and made more sense than the book it was based on. Colette's characters weren't very believable and the ending was unclear.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/15/2013


 
Author: Burchett, Jan and Vogler, Sara as Cavendish, Grace
Title: GoldLady Grace # 7
Genre: Historical Mystery - England
Rating: 4
When part of a loan to the Queen is stolen, Grace thinks a courtier is responsible and sets herself to unmask him. But when one candidate turns out to be innocent, she reluctantly must suspect a gentleman she admires.

Interesting juxtaposition of Grace's detecting with the wedding celebration of one of the Queen's former Maids of Honor. As always in this YA series, whodunnit is fairly obvious, but Grace is a likable enough character to carry it off and the title is definitely relevant to the story. And the publisher finally put an Elizabethan girl on the cover instead of the 1950's schoolgirl of earlier books!
reviewed by: Sylvia on 06/11/2012


 
Author: Gehling, Richard
Title: Garden of the Gods
Genre: History
Rating: 2
I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. Painfully comprehensive history of the intriguing natural arrangement of big rocks near Colorado Springs, CO.

The formatting on this book is somewhat bizarre. I opened it first on K4PC, to better appreciate the photos I expected, but a strip of type is missing down the left edge of the pages, making the history essentially unreadable. I then loaded the book onto my K4Android, and the whole type appears just fine. On my Kindle Keyboard, the odd formatting included having some type show up as grey and some as black. There is no Table of Contents I could find on my K4Android, although I was able to page back from the beginning to a TOC without active links on my Kindle Keyboard, and a simple "go to beginning" command on K4PC took me to the same TOC without active links immediately prior to the start of the book.

I have been to the Garden of the Gods and was interested in its history, but I have to admit I wasn't interested enough to read the whole detailed and apparently well-researched book. I would have to be a Garden devotee indeed to want to read a whole chapter on the names carved on various rocks by passers-through! The chapter on the individual rocks might be useful to the visitor. A serious drawback is the lack of photographs of this intensely photogenic site. Instead of just describing an odd rock formation, why on earth did Gehling fail to include an illustrative photo? Although I have to acknowledge there is a lot of work involved in writing such a detailed history - it feels like it could be a master's thesis - I don't know anyone who would consider it readable or enjoyable. Even our Colorado Springs friends, who took us to the Garden and told us how much they enjoy sharing the remarkable sights there, aren't interested in the detail this book goes into.

Although spelling and grammar were adequate, odd formatting continued throughout the book. The first part of "Chapter 1 - Dates to Remember" is in boldface, then it switches to regular type, but chunks of boldface type continue to appear throughout the book. Italics are scattered, apparently at random. Most subchapters are titled in plain type, but some appear in blue, even though they are not active links. The bizarre formatting combined with the lack of readability are the reason for the low star rating, although I must acknowledge it involved a lot of research on Gehling's part.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 05/26/2012


 
Author: Chambers, Ann
Title: Gourmet Ice Pops for Kids and Adults
Genre: Cookbook
Rating: 4
I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. Recipes for making flavored frozen desserts, including ideas for using up small amounts of leftovers taking up room in the fridge.

Some of the recipes use only natural ingredients and are reasonably healthy, and Chambers doesn't claim this is a healthy-eating book. The recipes themselves mostly look tasty and include pudding pops and fruit pops as well as Kool-Aid pops and juice pops. Some of the combinations, such as rosemary in apple cider or pistachios and cardamom in Earl Grey tea, sounded strange and I don't think I'd try them. I have my doubts about the appeal of the so-called "adult" pops (involving alcohol) but if you have a use for alcoholic frozen pop recipes, they are included. One problem I have found in mixing solid and liquid ingredients to freeze is that they don't stay mixed long enough to freeze, and Chambers does not address that problem. Maybe she is content to serve a layered pop. There is a table of contents, although it does not link to the Kindle navigation menu and only contains active links to the chapter headings. Spelling, grammar, and formatting are okay. The actual recipes only uses the first 85% of the file size; the last 15% promotes other cookbooks.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 05/19/2012


 
Author: Balchin, Kathleen
Title: Gongoozlers at the Gate
Genre: Memoir
Rating: 3
I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. Devoted sailors Kathleen and her husband John started their retirement as lockkeepers on the river Avon near Tewkesbury. Kathleen narrates tales from their lockkeeping days.

Amateur and disorganized, but a clever title, a sweet story, and enjoyable as a piece of living history. I also googled "Avon Lock, Tewkesbury" and saw Avon Lock Cottage and the lock itself connecting the two fairly small rivers. Balchin has a good command of language, but the lack of an editor shows in an unfocused storyline that includes irrelevant events such as a vacation to Spain, repeated phrases, and occasional misuse of words, such as bye-laws instead of by-laws. (Probably the funniest was "bosums" when she meant "bosoms!") There are two problems specific to the Kindle edition. One is that there is neither an indent nor a skipped line to indicate the start of a new paragraph, which was mildly distracting. The other is although there is an illustrator credited on the book information page, there are no illustrations in the book, and I bet they would have added a lot to the story. While there was much room for improvement, the book kept me reading to the end.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 05/15/2012


 
Author: Hunter, Alan
Title: Gently Down the StreamInspector George Gently # 3
Genre: Police Procedural Mystery
Rating: 3
The Inspector investigates the murder of a businessman whose body was found burned.

Decent police procedural, nothing special.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 02/03/2012


 
Author: Turnbull, Dora Amy as Wentworth, Patricia
Title: Grey MaskMiss Silver # 1
Genre: Historical Mystery - England
Rating: 1
Charles and his ex-fiancee Margaret wind up the reluctant protectors of an immature, self-centered heiress being pursued by a mysterious criminal mastermind.

Absolutely awful. There is no reason for Charles and Margaret to keep the girl rather than getting police help for her, there are no likable characters, and Miss Silver is an unbelievably perfect PI who barely appears in the story. I couldn't get into it at all.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 01/19/2012


 
Author: Alcott, Louisa May
Title: Good Wives aka Part 2 of Little WomenLittle Women # 2
Genre: Historical Fiction
Rating: 4
eBook downloaded from www.Gutenberg.org

Starting with Meg's wedding, the March girls face trials and enjoy blessings as well as suitors.

Deeper than the first part of Little Women, with Meg's marriage and Beth's illness both challenging comfortable attitudes. Major tearjerker sections, keep a box of kleenex handy! Unfortunately, the sheer quantity of typos continue to be a serious annoyance, especially when the word crops up frequently such as "devine" instead of the correct spelling, "divine."
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/22/2011


 
Author: Mansbach, Adam
Title: Go the F--k to Sleep
Genre: Satire
Rating: 3
Parody of children's books featuring a parent desperate for the child to land in Dreamland.

Cute idea and well-executed except for the WAY excessive use of expletives. They would have been much more effective used only occasionally, instead of at least once per line.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 08/20/2011


 
Author: Newman, Sharan
Title: Guinevere EvermoreGuinevere # 3
Genre: Historical Fiction
Rating: 2
Guinevere and Lancelot long for each other but don't want to hurt or humiliate Arthur. Modred comes to court, determined to be the next High King.

Although I enjoyed the first book in this series, this one never caught my attention. It just covered my least favorite part of the same old Camelot story. Too bad, because Newman did such an original portrayal of Guinevere's girlhood.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/11/2011


 
Author: Alleyn, Susanne
Title: Game of PatienceAristide Ravel # 3
Genre: Historical Mystery - France
Rating: 4
Aristede assists Brasseur with a double murder even when it is revealed that one victim was a blackmailer, because the other victim was an innocent woman. But as he closes in on a jealous killer, he becomes friends with a woman with a past.

Alleyn shines at convoluted plots where nothing is as it seems, and this is a solid example. I did pick up on a couple of casual clues but (as usual) I got CLOSE to the solution but not quite there, maybe one twist away. The main drawback is Brasseur's assistant Didier, an incompetent who is jealous of Aristede and doesn't contribute anything to the plot.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/10/2011


 
Author: Douglas, Carole Nelson
Title: Good Morning, Irene aka The AdventuressIrene Adler # 2
Genre: Historical Mystery - France
Rating: 1
Bored after her reputed death in a train wreck, Irene investigates two deaths connected by an elaborate tattoo on the chest of each victim.

Several elements combined to keep me from getting into this book. First, starting with a scene between Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson provided a grim foreshadowing that this is going to be yet another Holmes pastiche, and I have yet to read a good one. Second, there were too many coincidences even in just the first part of the story that I did read. An occasional coincidence can be forgiven if the story is otherwise logical and compelling; this wasn't. Finally, Irene herself is much less interesting in this book; she reminded me of nothing so much as a bored jet-setter, constantly looking for amusement. I don't remember what I liked about the first book in the series, but it was clearly lacking in this one.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/08/2011


 
Author: Diamant, Anita
Title: Good Harbor
Genre: Literary Fiction
Rating: 2
Children's librarian Kathleen is facing a cancer diagnosis. Freelance writer Joyce suffers an empty marriage and a rebellious daughter. Their friendship brings them both companionship and hope.

What it doesn't bring is an interesting story. I absolutely loved Day After Night and hoped this would be an equally compelling story, but it simply never caught my interest and I gave up halfway through. The title was quite appropriate.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/07/2011


 
Author: Holt, Hazel
Title: Gone Away aka Mrs. Malory InvestigatesSheila Malory # 1
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: 2
Sheila is asked to find the missing fiance of an old friend. But when she finds the woman dead in a remote house, none of the townspeople are willing to share their information with the police, and Sheila tackles finding a killer on her own.

This was an okay story until halfway through, when Sheila decided she couldn't break her friends' confidences by giving the information to the police. This wasn't a tea party, it involved a murdered woman and stupidity has no attraction for me, even in the name of social politeness.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/06/2011


 
Author: Bunn, T. Davis
Title: Gibraltar PassageRendezvous With Destiny # 2
Genre: Historical Fiction
Rating: 3
Jake and Pierre go to Marseille after learning that Pierre's brother may not have died when reported. As they chase rumors of Patrique through Gibraltar and Morocco, the love of Pierre's life pursues his forgiveness, and Jake learns to lean on God's direction.

Fast read and involving storyline, but I have to admit I agreed with Pierre that Jasmyn's story was too fantastic to believe. The title was only marginally related to the plot. But the worst offense is that the ending didn't resolve the story! Not exactly a cliffhanger, but it left Jake and Pierre in the middle of nowhere with a tough road out. The title of the next book in the series sounds like it will be a continuation of this one. Boo!
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/03/2011


 
Author: Lakin, Rita
Title: Getting Old Is MurderGladdy Gold # 1
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: 3
When two of her retirement community friends die from heart attacks on the night before their birthdays, veteran mystery reader Gladdy is determined to prove they were murdered - and find the killer.

Better than I expected, even though Lakin does make the usual first-book mistake of devoting too much space to introducing characters we have no reason to care about. The story took off before I was thoroughly disgusted and moved right along, but then Lakin ruined it by pulling the "with this clue that I'm not going to share with the reader, Gladdy knew whodunit" that I hate more than almost anything else an author can do. Although it didn't matter in this case, as the murderer was pretty obvious. The title is more "cute" than relevant.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 07/02/2011


 
Author: Churchill, Jill
Title: Grime and PunishmentJane Jeffry # 1
Genre: Cozy Murder Mystery
Rating: 2
Jane Jeffry is a widowed mother of three whose super-organized next-door neighbor finds a cleaning lady dead in her house.

Painfully slow start as Churchill spent 40 pages (I counted) introducing Jane and her kids and her neighborhood and her friends and her relatives - not that I had been given any reason to care about them. I got halfway through but never found the story interesting, there were too many unlikable people. I have sadly concluded that the series with clever titles tend to have uninteresting stories, and this series has wonderful titles. I still plan on reading the second in the series in the forlorn hope that someone will prove me wrong.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/21/2010


 
Author: Newman, Sharan
Title: GuinevereGuinevere # 1
Genre: Historical Fantasy
Rating: 5
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/15/2010


 
Author: Drew, Alan
Title: Gardens of Water
Genre: Literary Fiction
Rating: 4
A Kurdish refugee family loses their new life in Turkey when an earthquake destroys their home and business. Sinan, his wife, their teenage daughter, and their young son wind up in another refugee camp, run by an American former neighbor whose wife sacrificed herself to save their son. But the American man's son is attracted to Sinan's daughter, and the clash of cultures inevitably leads to tragedy.

Those writers who think literary fiction can't have a solid story should read this book. Drew spends a lot of time in the main character's head but also draws the reader along a conflict-ridden plot. The characters feel real and motivate the reader to want to fix the problems. The excessive inside-the-head ruminations weaken the storyline but do not destroy it. It is a slow read, of course, but held my attention throughout. And the title is very relevant to the story.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/13/2010


 
Author: Cannon, Taffy
Title: Guns and RosesRoxanne Prescott # 1
Genre: Murder Mystery
Rating: 3
When her aunt is suddenly sidelined with chicken pox, former cop and new tour guide Roxanne must shepherd a diverse group to Southern battlefields and old houses. But a series of progressively more dangerous "pranks" threaten Roxanne's maiden effort.

I got halfway through this book before giving up. It wasn't horrible, but the story failed to involve me. The characters were okay, but they all seemed to be types - the Old Southern type, the New Money type, the Burned-Out Cop type, the Cute-As-a-Button Child type, etc. It never made me care what happened next.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/11/2010


 
Author: Krentz, Jayne Ann
Title: Gift of GoldVerity Ames # 1
Genre: Romance
Rating: 1
Drifter and former professor Jonas Quarrel is so taken with Verity Ames' brief visit to a Mexican bar that he tracks her to her Pacific Northwest vegetarian restaurant, where the two are (of course) attracted to each other.

Typical romance, with chaste but passionate woman pursued by the One Man Who Can Unlock Her Defenses. I don't like sappy romances and I gave up pretty quickly.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 10/05/2010


 
Author: Douglas, Carole Nelson
Title: Good Night Mr. HolmesIrene Adler # 1
Genre: Historical Mystery
Rating: 4
Penurious young actress Irene Adler still has the style to befriend homeless salesgirl Nell Huxleigh and avenge her dismissal. But an assignment to track down a fabulous but long-lost diamond belt brings her into conflict with the famous Sherlock Holmes. Years later, beloved of Bohemia's crown prince, Irene sends for Nell in her fear for the king's life. But her own virtue is in danger as well, leading to a dramatic flight.

Douglas basically writes Irene Adler's entire adult history in this "prequel" to "A Scandal in Bohemia" by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, leading to a lack of focus. Look on it as several novellas featuring the same characters, because each is a solid and enjoyable story. I have been universally dissatisfied with various authors' attempts to write new Sherlock Holmes projects, but this succeeds because Holmes is only a peripheral character. The first-person narration by Irene's friend and not-really-a-sidekick stays consistent to first-person limitations while drawing the reader into Irene's circle of charm. I don't think I could call some of Irene's deductions believable, but the action moves along at a good clip and doesn't give the reader time to wonder whether she could really have done that.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/24/2010


 
Author: Finnis, Jane
Title: Get Out or DieAurelia Marcella # 1
Genre: Historical Mystery
Rating: 1
Roman Aurelia Marcella runs an inn near Eboracum (York) in Britannia. When several Roman corpses turn up with the message that all Romans in Britannia will be killed, she refuses to be driven from her home. Complicating matters is a handsome Roman who survived the murderous attack but now has others determined to kill him.

This book started out with two strikes. Strike #1: Aurelia does not ring true as an ancient Roman. She's a 21st century woman transplanted badly to a 1st century setting, even looking at where her customers will "park" their carriages later! Strike #2: the first chapter is riddled with "if I had only known" foreshadowing, irritating laziness on the author's part. I tried to get through the rest of the book, but it kept adding characters with no call on my interest, and a romance-like fascination with the gorgeous Lucius. I gave up a quarter of the way through.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/22/2010


 
Author: Franklin, Ariana
Title: Grave GoodsDoctor Adelia # 3
Genre: Historical Mystery - England
Rating: 4
reviewed by: Sylvia on 02/13/2010


 
Author: Tesler, Nancy
Title: Golden Eggs and Other Deadly ThingsCarrie Carlin # 4
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/16/2009


 
Author: Matthews, Carole
Title: Girls' night out
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/14/2009


 
Author: Morsi, Pamela
Title: Garters
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 09/10/2009


 
Author: Bach, David
Title: Go Green, Live Rich
Genre: Living
Rating: 4
reviewed by: Sylvia on 01/13/2009


 
Author: Weiner, Jennifer
Title: Goodnight nobody
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/31/2008


 
Author: Tomblin, Barbara
Title: G.I. nightingales
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/31/2008


 
Author: Katz, Jon
Title: Geeks
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/31/2008


 
Author: Shaara, Jeff
Title: Gone for soldiers
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/23/2008


 
Author: Chabon, Michael
Title: Gentlemen of the road
Genre:
Rating:
reviewed by: Sylvia on 12/19/2008


 
Author: Weiner, Jennifer
Title: Good In Bed
Genre:
Rating:
Yet another whiny body-obsessed anti-heroine who thinks she is the center of the universe. This one is body-obsessed because there is too much of it, but who cares?
reviewed by: Sylvia on 04/28/2008


 
Author: Kingsbury, Karen
Title: Gideon's GiftRed Gloves #1
Genre: Holiday
Rating: 4
Likeable characters facing insurmountable odds become winners through a Christmas miracle.

If there isn't already a book genre called "holiday tearjerkers," there should be, and Gideon's Gift is a worthy entry. Not great literature but keep a box of kleenex handy while reading.
reviewed by: Sylvia on 03/06/2008


No previous page